I had a nervous breakdown

Warning: This post starts with a depressing note but could end with a happy note.

Friday evening 6 pm:

I came back from work, entered the empty home as always. I kept down my handbag and groceries and headed to freshen up. As soon as I saw my reflection in the mirror I broke. I don’t know why and how but I cried and sobbed. I felt as if the reflection is not me. Have you ever felt the same? I questioned myself looking in the mirror. I couldn’t shout but my anger came out through the gritted teeth.

It lasted for 5 minutes and I calmed down. After the downpour of tears I knew exactly why I broke down. I had kept them inside me for too long.

Secondly I was in pain, I am in pain. I am talking about physical one. Since few days I am having severe cramps in my back and lower abdomen. My abdomen is bloated as if it would burst. It was a great struggle traveling and sitting at workplace. I couldn’t share my pain with anyone, ANYONE. Why? I might be PMS pain. It means one more month passed by without getting pregnant. It was a relief that H is out of town otherwise I would have to bear the pain without showing it through my expression.

The pain reached its limit on Friday and half of Saturday so much so that I don’t even remember how many times I filled the hot water bag just to get some relief. I did not take any pain relievers. Hoping, simply hoping what if the pain is not of PMS but a sign of implantation. But does it hurt so much? Can anyone share or guide me through your experience?

I slept through most of the Saturday morning. I needed it. I have been eating healthy foods still the pain won’t budge. Let me tell you hormones and healthy eating never goes hand in hand. Hormones are their own master. No one can rule over them. Even medicines after certain period of time can’t handle them. And mine have become overpowering to control them.

Reading has become my ultimate distraction from the pain and the overall ‘getting pregnant’. I have been loving solitude more than ever now. It is agonizing that even the beloved ones do not understand my suffering. Yes ‘infertility’ is a ‘suffering’.

P.S. I like you’ by Kasie West rescued me from falling into nervous breakdown. I read it in 3 days (the fastest time considering balancing work life and home chores). I couldn’t keep it down. My mind couldn’t take off the book, telling me to finish reading it. The story line is predictable but the narration, the words exchanged between the characters and above all the letters and the lyrics (both are my weakness). A handwritten note or a letter can never be compared with a text or an email even though the later are faster to send through.

One of my favorite line from the book which appropriately suits my current life situation:

“I feel like if I hold things close, never share, then I never give anyone the opportunity to judge me.”

P.S. I like you‘ was the first book I read by Kasie West and now I am eager to read her other books.

The book reminded me of another favorite of mine which also has songs in it. This led me to hear the song  Maybe Someday – Griffin Peterson again.

I am all set to read ‘Committed’ by Elizabeth Gilbert, the sequel to ‘eat pray love‘ which I read 6 years ago. I had loved it. The book sparked my reading journey again which had taken a halt due to my studies and graduation.

Ending this post with the quote shared in ‘Committed: A Love Story’ in the very beginning.

I said I would end the post on a happy note 🙂

queen victoria quotes, quotes on marriage, marriage quotes, quotes in committted book by elizabeth gilbert

5 thoughts on “I had a nervous breakdown

  1. Pingback: 5 Years of Sharing, Caring, Fighting | Serenity

Leave a Reply

